Local, not cloud
Speech recognition and the language model run on your computer. No data processor, no international transfer.
Dictation software compared side by side differs above all in one question: is your speech recognised on your own computer or on a provider's servers? SpeechToWork, Dragon Professional v16, Superwhisper with local models and, largely, Apple Dictation work locally. Wispr Flow, Dragon Anywhere, Philips SpeechLive, ChatGPT and Windows voice typing use the cloud.
By Danilo à Tellinghusen

The table summarises what the providers themselves say on their websites, pricing pages and documentation. Where a provider publishes nothing, it says “not stated”. As of October 2026, all sources are listed at the end of the page.
| Solution | Where is speech recognised? | Where does the data go? | Systems | Pricing model |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SpeechToWork | locally on your PC or Mac, including the AI rewriting | nowhere; online only for the model download and licence check | Windows 10/11 (64-bit), Mac with Apple silicon, macOS 14+ | subscription per user: 19 € or 39 € a month plus VAT, 192 € or 384 € a year |
| Dragon Professional v16 | installed locally | according to the data sheet, internet only for download and activation | Windows 10/11, Windows Server; Mac version discontinued in 2018 | no published price, via contact or volume licensing |
| Dragon Professional Anywhere | cloud | Nuance cloud on Microsoft Azure, region not stated | Windows 10/11, Windows Server; mobile app | subscription, price not stated |
| Windows voice typing (Win+H) | online speech recognition (Azure Speech) | to Microsoft, according to Microsoft only to provide the service | Windows 10 and 11 | included in Windows |
| Apple Dictation (macOS) | general dictation on the device once speech models are downloaded | search boxes and dictation not processed locally go to Apple's servers | macOS | included in macOS |
| Wispr Flow | cloud | processed in the USA, subprocessors include AWS and OpenAI | Mac, Windows x64, iPhone, Android | Free with a word limit, Pro 15 $ a month, Growth from 23 $, Enterprise on request |
| Superwhisper | local models (e.g. Whisper, Parakeet) or cloud models, your choice | local: stays on the device; cloud: to providers such as OpenAI, Anthropic, Deepgram | macOS 14+, Windows 10/11, iPhone, Android | Free with local models, Pro 8.49 $ a month, 84.99 $ a year or 249.99 $ one-off |
| Philips SpeechLive | cloud (Microsoft Azure, including Azure OpenAI) | Azure data centre in Europe (Netherlands) for European users | browser, desktop app for Windows and Mac, iOS, Android | subscription per user, speech recognition from 39.40 € a month plus VAT |
| ChatGPT dictation | on OpenAI's servers | to OpenAI; dictation audio is kept as long as the chat is in your history | web, iOS, Android, desktop app for Mac and Windows; writes into the ChatGPT message box | Free, Plus 20 $ a month, Business from 20 $ per user a month billed annually |
With a cloud solution, every dictation goes to a server. For businesses this means a data processing agreement, checking server locations and subprocessors and, with US providers, assessing the international transfer. Professionals bound by confidentiality also have to ask whether a third party could see the content.
With local processing, none of this applies, because nothing is transferred. The trade-off is that your computer has to do the recognition itself. Modern models manage that on an ordinary office PC or an Apple silicon Mac. More in our guide to local AI.
The second difference is the result. Classic speech recognition writes down what you say, with every “um” and every self-correction, which you then clean up by command or by hand. Newer tools tidy up the text with a language model.
Detailed comparison: Wispr Flow alternative. Guides to the built-in features: Windows dictation and Mac dictation.
Everything said about other providers comes from their own publications:
As of October 2026. We checked all details against the sources listed on 12 October 2026. Providers change prices, features and terms often; the current version on the provider's site always takes precedence. All trademarks belong to their owners and are named for description only. This comparison is not legal advice.
Speech recognition and the language model run on your computer. No data processor, no international transfer.
Self-corrections, filler words and numbers are handled as you dictate, in English and German.
19 € or 39 € a month per user plus VAT, no word limit. 14-day trial without payment details.
Speech recognition and the language model are installed on your computer and run there. What you dictate ends up in your program and nowhere else. How the data flow works.
Audio and text stay on your computer. There is no server listening in and no AI provider in the background.
No third party processes your dictations. So there is no data processing agreement to sign and no international transfer to assess.
Once installed, SpeechToWork works offline. Only the licence check needs a connection.
It depends on what you dictate and on which devices. For confidential office work on Windows and Mac, local software such as SpeechToWork is the obvious choice. If you want to control the whole PC by voice, look at Dragon. If you mainly dictate on your phone, you need a solution with an app, such as Wispr Flow or Superwhisper.
Programs that run speech recognition on your own computer work offline: SpeechToWork, Dragon Professional v16 as a locally installed product, and Superwhisper with local models. According to Apple, general dictation on a Mac is processed on the device. Wispr Flow, SpeechLive, ChatGPT and Windows voice typing need internet.
Many solutions can be used in line with GDPR, but the effort differs. Cloud services need a data processing agreement and, with US providers, an assessment of the international transfer. With local software such as SpeechToWork, neither is needed because no dictations go to a service provider. The assessment for your business is yours to make.
The built-in features of Windows and macOS are free. According to the providers' pricing pages, subscriptions range from about 8 $ to 49 € a month per user: Superwhisper Pro 8.49 $, Wispr Flow Pro 15 $, SpeechLive with speech recognition from 39.40 €. SpeechToWork costs 19 € or 39 € plus VAT. Nuance publishes no price for Dragon.
Only partly. According to OpenAI, dictation goes into the ChatGPT message box, where you review it and send it as a message. It does not write directly into Outlook, Word or your industry software, and the audio goes to OpenAI and is kept while the chat stays in your history. For work across many programs, dictation software is more practical.
Yes. SpeechToWork runs on Windows 10 and 11 and on Macs with Apple silicon, as do Wispr Flow, Superwhisper and the SpeechLive desktop app. Dragon Professional is now Windows only; Nuance discontinued the Mac version in 2018. Windows and macOS also each have their own built-in dictation feature.
Wispr Flow and SpeechToWork compared factually: data flow, systems, prices, as of October 2026.
ViewDictate into Mail, Outlook, Word, Safari and any other Mac app, processed locally on Apple silicon.
ViewUse AI in the office without handing data to a provider.
ViewFrom €16 net per seat per month · 14 days free trial, no payment details · For Windows and Mac Compare prices
One click, one file, no form. Install SpeechToWork and start the trial right in the app.
Windows: Version 1.0.0 · 87 MB · Windows 10/11 (64-bit), min. 8 GB RAM and 10 GB free
Mac: Version 1.0.0 · 87 MB · macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon (M1 or later), min. 8 GB RAM and 10 GB free
SpeechToWork is new. Chrome, Edge and Windows SmartScreen only trust a file once it has been downloaded many times. For a new program they therefore show “Suspicious download” or “Windows protected your PC”. That is a judgement based on how well known the file is, not a malware finding.
The installer is digitally signed, publisher Danilo à Tellinghusen. To check, right-click the file, choose “Properties” and open the “Digital Signatures” tab. The Mac version is notarised by Apple.
One file for Windows or Mac, straight from our server.
On Windows a double click is all it takes, on a Mac you drag the app into Applications. No administrator rights needed.
On first start: enter your name and business email, no payment method.
On first start, SpeechToWork downloads the language models once (4 to 6 GB). Already have a licence key? Enter it on first start. What is transferred in the process is explained in our privacy policy.